Home > .NET Framework > ‘Reorder failed, see details below’ error in AjaxControlToolkit’s ReorderList

‘Reorder failed, see details below’ error in AjaxControlToolkit’s ReorderList

Recently I ran into an issue with the AjaxControlToolkit’s ReOrderList control. The error message was:
Reorder failed, see details below.
Failed to reorder.
The actual issue was the update method we had set on the object datasource control.
AjaxControlToolkit perfers to use TypeDescriptor.GetProperties(row) to build the parameters dictionaries for the update method.
Ideally it should have been using the UpdateTemplate of the reorderlist and UpdateParameters on object datasource combination.
Nevertheless the exception handling in AjaxControlToolkit made sure I never got the actual error and I was stuck on this.
Buggy exception handling is worser then no exception handling.
Finally I built the AjaxControlToolkit in debug mode and figured out what was the actual problem.
How a Data Source Control Creates Parameters for Data-bound Fields article on MSDN was also of help.
Hope this will help someone who stuck with this issue.
Categories: .NET Framework
  1. Unknown
    May 11, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Wow … I have spent hours trying to figure out this quirky behavior, and finally ran across this post.  It fits the functionality I have seen precisely, and explains why I was able to get it to work in some scenarios and not others.  I would say you are right on.  Thanks for enlightening the rest of us.

  2. Wayne
    May 23, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Thank you so much for this.Been scratching my head for hours over this.

  3. Sendhil Kumar
    May 25, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Glad to be of help.
     
    Thanks,
    Sendhil

  4. Dave
    April 24, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I unfortunately am very new to .net so the article, though informative, hasn’t quite tipped me off as to what I need to do to correct the problem. Is this something that has a solution?

  5. David
    November 11, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    This really doesn’t tell me anything I need to know in a way I can understand how to fix the problem
    So, if you understand and know what the problem is, why didn’t you post it, so we could do what you did, to fix it (which I’m assuming you did)?
     
     

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

