Home > Great Links > Strategic Story Telling – A leadership development tool

Strategic Story Telling – A leadership development tool

Quotes from the article

Strategic Story Telling – A leadership development tool

Here’s an example. In one of my keynote talks, I teach the value of focusing on solutions instead of problems by telling a story about running late for a speech in Kansas City. My plane had been delayed and, to make matters worse, when I finally arrived at the airport, I missed the only shuttle that would have taken me to my appointment on time. So I spotted a limo at the curbside and, out of desperation, asked the driver if he could give me a ride. His other passenger had just canceled so he said yes.

By focusing on the solution, I saw the limo, took action, and got to my appointment on time. Had I focused on the problem, I would have waited for the next shuttle and been late. I wouldn’t have seen the opportunity for an innovative solution. This key point flows out of my limo story and, at the end, I suggest that when things don’t work out the way they’re supposed to, then “Look for the Limo.”

Read on: http://cultivategreatness.com/2007/10/30/strategic-storytelling-a-leadership-development-tool

Categories: Great Links
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

