Home > Entertainment > .NET Framework 3.X Strikes Again – Part 5

.NET Framework 3.X Strikes Again – Part 5

The awesome folks @ Microsoft continue to feed the critic /nitpicker in me. We needed a fix applied by .NET Framework 2.0 SP1 badly for our application. When I saw that .NET Framework 3.5 redistributable also contains .NET Framework 2.0 SP1, I jumped into installing it. Since all of our team needed this fix, I decided to download the entire redistributable package, rather than the bootstrapper. It was a whopping 197 MB. Yes .NET Framework 3.5 Full Redistributable Package is 197 Megs in size. When I started installing it I was running into this error.

NET Framework 3.5 Installation Error 1

Yes the setup package was complaining to close itself. I ignored it and continued. But it messed up with my existing 2.0 website which was using Microsoft AJAX Extensions 1.0. I decided to reinstall it and ran into this one now.

NET Framework 3.5 Installer error 2

I did a continue anyway and still the AJAX issue persisted. After messing with config files, fusion log viewer, searching for publisher policies etc. in vain,I decided to look into the Reference property of System.Web.Extensions and it was pointing to v3.5. I then switched the ‘Specific Version’ property on the reference to true. It fixed the issue

"The base class includes the field ‘ScriptManager1’, but its type (System.Web.UI.ScriptManager) is not compatible with the type of control (System.Web.UI.ScriptManager)."

Later I found that someone else had documented the theory behind it clearly here. I am including the full error message here so that once google picks it up into its index store, It may help others who are facing this issue.

The earlier articles on the same topic can be found here, here, here and here.

Categories: Entertainment
  1. Tyler
    September 22, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Just wanted to thank you for the reference to the ‘type not compatible’ error. was only 1 of 11 hits on Google and the one that took me to the solution.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

