Home > Books > Anecdote

Anecdote

I read this small anecdote from "Are You Ready to Succeed? Unconventional Strategies to Achieving
Personal Mastery in Business and Life"
by Professor Srikumar S. Rao


He was the Lord of the Realm, dignified, and imbued with noble oblige. He would
have lunch at his club every day and then take a brisk constitutional. His
assistant would tag along and he would issue instructions as they walked. Much
business was usually accomplished.

He would pass a panhandler every day
at the same corner and would drop ten shillings into his hat, That was a goodly
sum those days, but the recipient showed no gratitude. He was rude, ungracious,
frequently inebriated. Sometime she was even vituperative.

One day, when
the tramp was even more disagreeable than usual, the assistant could not contain
himself. "Your Lordship, why do you continue to give money to such such an
undeserving hobo?" he queried.

"What would you do if were in my
position?" the Lord queried back.

"I would tell him what he could do with
himself said the assistant with feeling.

"There was a time when I did
that", assented the Load. "But then I realized, what I was doing. It is my
nature to help those not so fortunate as myself. When I brushed him off in anger
because of his surliness, I was letting him dictate how I would behave. And I
would not let a wine slotted, foul-mouthed, unwashed vagrant decide my
behavior".


No no no, I am not there yet either. But we can be on the journey to that
place, become bullet-proof one day.
Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

