Home > Books, Inspirational Stuff, Personal-Development > Book Recommendation: Soft Skills–The software developer’s life manual by Jon Sonmez

Book Recommendation: Soft Skills–The software developer’s life manual by Jon Sonmez

I got interested in this book when I looked up Jon’s profile after watching a pluralsight course on Android Development Fundamentals.

Soft Skills - The Software developers's life manual

I got hooked by the table of contents and ordered it from Sapna Online (Amazon and Flipkart were not having this book then – I have never considered amazon India as option like amazon worldwide, But Flipkart – Is Flipkart loosing it? Common flipkart).

It is completely worth your time and money. I wish I had this book 10 years back. No other book covers the breadth of topics like Jon does.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. Specifically I enjoyed Jon’s advice on Career options and investment. I was trying to correlate with what I had written about Career Path in my previous incarnation and in the recent past.

I used to refer  to a couple of titles before on this

https://pragprog.com/book/cfcar2/the-passionate-programmer

http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Code-distinguish-yourself-simple/dp/1590791029

But none of them are close to the breadth of topics Jon covers.

Not that I agree with Jon’s opinion on every topic, but then hey people are different. I will post about my thoughts on these topics soon. I will also post a detailed review / notes soon.

Highly recommended to every developer.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment